Cradled between the Ouachita and Ozark Mountains, Nimrod Lake has proven popular with fishers and hunters since it was completed in 1942. It is the oldest Corps of Engineers lake in the state.
The Nimrod Lake & Dam were authorized by the Flood Control Act of 1938. Testing the site for the dam started in September of 1939 with core drilling and test trenches. Clearing and preparing the site for construction started in February of 1940.
Actual construction of the dam began in April of 1940 and was continued after the start of World War II. It was completed in March of 1942 making it the first to be constructed in the Little Rock District.
There are seven parks nestled along the lake where a family or individual can picnic, camp, or just relax amid the groves of tall, sweet-scented pines. The parks are equipped with tent/trailer spaces, tables, grills, fire rings, playgrounds, fish cleaning stations, boat launch ramps, trash cans, municipal water, electricity and showers.